Executive Committee

The World Council’s Executive Committee (EC) is elected by the World Council and entrusted to serve on the World Council’s behalf when it is out of session. It includes the Co-Moderators, Treasurer, Secretary General, elected Co-Presidents, and a representative from both the International Women's Coordinating Committee and International Youth Committee. The World Council has also seconded to the EC the Moderators of Religions for Peace Regional Councils.

Dr. Vinu Aram, Hindu, INDIA,
Director, Shanti Ashram

H.E. Raymundo Cardinal Damasceno Assis, Roman Catholic, BRAZIL,
Archbishop of Aparecida, Sao Paulo, Archdiocese of Aparecida, Sao Paulo, and Moderator, Religions for Peace–Latin American and Caribbean Council of Religious Leaders

Sheikh Abdallah bin Bayyah, Muslim, MAURITANIA and SAUDI ARABIA,
President, Forum for Promoting Peace in Muslim Societies

Mr. Steve Killelea, Buddhist, AUSTRALIA,
Founder and Executive Chairman, Institute for Economics and Peace, and Religions for Peace International Treasurer

Ms. Paddy Meskin, Jewish, SOUTH AFRICA,
President, South African Union of Temple Sisterhoods, and Coordinator, Religions for Peace International Women’s Coordinating Committee

H.E. Sheikh Shaban Ramadhan Mubaje, Muslim, UGANDA,
Grand Mufti, Uganda Muslim Supreme Council, and Co-Moderator, Religions for Peace-African Council of Religious Leaders

Mrs. Rori Picker Neiss, Orthodox Judaism, USA,
Director of Programming, Education, and Community Engagement, Bais Abraham Congregation, and Coordinator, Religions for Peace International Youth Committee 

Rev. Kosho Niwano, Buddhist, JAPAN,
President-Designate, Rissho Kosei-Kai

H.E. John Cardinal Onaiyekan, Roman Catholic, NIGERIA,
Archbishop of Abuja, Archdiocese of Abuja, and Co-Moderator, Religions for Peace-African Council of Religious Leaders

Chief Rabbi David Rosen, Jewish, ISRAEL,
International Director of Interreligious Affairs, American Jewish Committee

Priestess Beatriz Schulthess, Indigenous, COSTA RICA,
President, Indigenous Peoples Ancestral Spiritual Council

Dr. Din Syamsuddin, Muslim, INDONESIA,
Leader, Muhammadiyah, and Moderator, Asian Conference of Religions for Peace

Dr. Sayyid M. Syeed, Muslim, UNITED STATES,
National Director, Office for Interfaith and Community Alliances, The Islamic Society of North America

Dr. William F. Vendley, Secretary General,
Religions for Peace International

Revd. Dr. Thomas Wipf, Protestant, SWITZERLAND
President, Community of Protestant Churches in Europe, and Moderator, Religions for Peace-European Council of Religious Leaders